Meet the legend – violin virtuoso Ivry Gitlis

29 August 2016 at 8:00 p.m., Grand hotel Union, Ljubljana


Ivry Gitlis, Anton Martynov, Yuri Kalnits, Kremena Nikolova - Violins
Lyda Chen-Argerich, Mikhail Bereznitsky - Violas
Aleksandar Latković, Nikola Jovanović, - Cellos

Jean-Marie LECLAIR (1697-1764)
Sonata for two violins without bass (à deux violons sans basse) in E minor, Op. 3 n. 5
- Allegro ma poco
- Gavotte (Andante grazioso)
- Presto

Duration: 15 minutes
Anton MARTYNOV (1969)
Suite Baroque for two violins without bass in G major (2016)

- Ouverture
- Allemanda
- Forlana
- Sarabanda
- Marcia
- Giga
- Alla rustica (Dä Bärnertanz)
Duration: 20 minutes
Anton Martynov & Kremena Nikolova - Violins
Octet for 4 violins, 2 violas and 2 cellos in E-flat major, Op. 20

- Allegro moderato con fuoco
- Andante
- Scherzo (Allegro leggierissimo)
- Presto
Duration: 35 minutes
Ivry Gitlis – Legendary Israeli violin virtuoso

He is 94 years old and during his rich career he played with world-class orchestras, including philharmonic orchestras from London, New York, Berlin, Philadelphia and Israel. He is one of the last masters from the "golden generation" and has played with everyone from Jasch Heifetz to John Lennon. Meet the legend - remember his thoughts and have the courage to follow his lead.